Little Axe Community Center hosting boating safety course
The Little Axe Community Center is hosting the Boat Oklahoma course provided by the Marine Enforcement Section of the Oklahoma Highway Patrol. The free, eight hour course is offered to residents of Oklahoma on April 28 at 9 a.m. The Little Axe Community Center is located at 1000 168th Avenue N.E.
The Boat Oklahoma course is approved by the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) and includes information on navigation rules, state boating laws, safe vessel operation, equipment requirements, and boating courtesy as well as other boating safety topics.
A multiple-choice examination is given at the end of the court. Students who pass the exam are issued a card as proof of course completion.
Oklahoma state law requires that everyone between 12 and 16 years of age complete a NASBLA approved course before operating any boat powered by a motor in excess of 10 horsepower, including personal watercraft, or any sailboat 16 feet or greater in length. Most insurance companies will give a discount to boat owners that complete the course.
Eight hours of CLEET credit will be given to CLEET certified officers.
Oklahoma residents who would like to attend the training can contact Trooper Amy Cobalt by calling 306-5406 or by email at Amy.Cobalt@dps.ok.gov
The Marine Enforcement Section of the Oklahoma Highway Patrol serves as the boating safety education, enforcement, and marine investigation section of the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety.