Skip to Content

Public Works

   APWA Logo

The mission of the Public Works Department is to provide exceptional transportation, storm water/flood control and subdivision development services to the citizens of Norman.

Photo of Shawn O'Leary


The Public Works Department is organized into 6 functional divisions:  Administration, Engineering, Fleet, Streets, Stormwater, and Traffic Control. The Department provides transportation, stormwater/flood control and subdivision development services through the development review, construction, reconstruction, operation and maintenance of public infrastructure. It provides support to every City department through specification development, acquisition assistance, and maintenance of the City Fleet.

The Administration Division is responsible for the management of the six (6) operating divisions, 116 full-time staff members, an annual operating budget of $16,187,242, a capital improvement budget of approximately $10,760,000 per year, collaboration with the other ten (10) City departments as well as outside agencies and coordination with the City Manager and the City Council. 

The Engineering Division is responsible for the design and construction of capital improvement projects; coordination of the private development process including subdivision platting, land disturbance and construction of public improvements; administration of the stormwater pollution prevention (Phase II) program; management of sidewalk programs; enforcement of American with Disabilities (ADA) regulations in the public right-of-way; assigning addresses and special projects. 

The Fleet Division is responsible for the acquisition, maintenance and disposal of motorized vehicles and equipment for all City departments.  The division also operates the City's vehicle fueling facility.  The City currently owns over 400 rolling vehicles and 300 other pieces of equipment.

The Street Division is responsible for the maintenance of approximately 650 centerline miles of public streets throughout the city.  The division provides snow and ice control, street sweeping, pothole patching, storm inlet cleaning, response and recovery to emergencies and other functions necessary to keep the street system operational and safe. 

The Stormwater Division is responsible for the maintenance of bridges, culverts, channels, pump stations and other stormwater systems throughout the city.  There are currently 72 bridges and over 300 miles of drainage channels in Norman. 

The Traffic Division is responsible for the operation and maintenance of 172 traffic and pedestrian signals, 35,000 traffic control signs, 5,854 street lights, 200 miles of pavement marking, 212 parking meters in the Downtown and Campus Corner areas.  The division also provides traffic engineering services including traffic studies, management of 8 interconnected traffic signal corridors, Traffic Calming Program, coordination with the Association of Oklahoma Governments (ACOG) transportation improvement program and administration of traffic-related capital improvement projects. 

Engineering Fleet Streets Stormwater Traffic